top of page
Zoeken
  • Foto van schrijverJoëlle de Boer

The little empty picture frame

When my grandfather died and we were cleaning out his house, I came across a small empty picture frame. The smallest picture frame I've ever seen. It will just fit a passport photo. This small empty picture frame is now in my house, in my bedroom on my bedside table. From the moment I held the small empty picture frame in my hands, I knew I had to give it a place. Giving it a place stands for where I wanted it, but it also stands for something symbolic. The small picture frame is empty. No photo, no moment frozen in time. This picture frame represents the unknown people that I don't have a frozen moment in time with yet, a photo or image of who they are. The main characters of the little empty picture frame are the half-brothers and half-sisters that I don't have a good picture of yet and who I haven't had a good time with at the moment to look them in the eye and learn more about each other. Although the picture frame is very small, it is filled with a feeling of many people. The unknown image of a group of people I don't know, my half-siblings. The people without a face.


bottom of page